The 2016 IOG Awards finalists – who will be shortlisted this year?

The 2017 Awards is set to accommodate more that 750 guests to celebrate the very best in groundsmanship

Toro's Most Promising Sports Turf Student of the Year was Katie Croft from Manchester City FC

The Professional Tennis Grounds Team of the Year was the All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club, Wimbledon

Book your place at the biggest, annual celebration in groundsmanship

A new stage is set to accommodate more that 750 guests at the National Conference Centre, near The NEC, on the evening of 1 November (the first night of SALTEX).

Hosted by talkSPORT’s Mark Saggers, the ninth annual IOG Industry Awards event has proven year-on-year to be the biggest celebration in groundsmanship and this year’s 22 award categories provide even more opportunity for greater recognition for those working in all types of grounds management – from volunteers at grassroots community clubs to professional grounds teams at iconic international sports stadia. And unsung hero and lifetime achievement award categories also recognise the work of those who sometimes operate under the radar.

The award event will also include entertainment from Britain’s Got Talent’s Kev Orkian.

With headline sponsorship by Rigby Taylor and Top Green, the 2017 awards now feature

  • IOG Bowling Greenkeeper/Team
  • IOG Best Maintained Artificial Pitch
  • IOG Ransomes Environmental/Innovative Project
  • IOG Toro Most Promising Sports Turf Student
  • IOG Redexim Charterhouse/Kubota Volunteer Groundsman/Team
  • IOG Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman
  • IOG Countrywide Turf & Amenity Independent School/University/College Grounds Team
  • IOG Private Members Sports Club Grounds Team
  • IOG NGB Professional Sports Grounds Team
  • IOG NGB Grassroots Sports Grounds Team

[Both of the above are co-sponsored by the Football Association, the All England Lawn Tennis & Croquet Club (AELTC), the Lawn Tennis Association, the Premier League, Rugby Football League and the RFU (Rugby Football Union)]

  •  IOG Headland Professional Cricket Grounds Team
  • IOG Infinicut Professional Tennis Grounds Team
  • IOG SISGrass Professional Football Grounds Team

(English Leagues 1 and 2, Scottish Leagues 1 and 2, Ireland & Wales Professional Leagues)

  • IOG SGL Professional Football Grounds Team

(Premier League, Championship and Scottish Premier League)

  • IOG John Deere Professional Horse Racing Grounds Team
  • IOG Mansfield Sand Professional Rugby Football League Grounds Team
  • IOG Grassmaster Professional Rugby Football Union Grounds Team
  • IOG Contractor of the year
  • IOG International Ambassador of the Year
  • IOG Lifetime/Outstanding Achievement Award 2017
  • IOG Ransomes/DLF Johnsons Alex R Miller Groundsman of the Year
  • IOG Special Recognition 2017.

Book your seats now by visiting:, emailing or calling 01908 312 511. Places are priced at £90 for IOG members and £160 for non members.

Contact Karen Maxwell ( for more information regarding award sponsorship.

talkSPORT’s Mark Saggers will be reprising his role as host for the 2017 Awards

Lewis Pattinson, Leeds Rugby was awarded the Rigby Taylor/Top Green Young Groundsman of the Year

National Governing Bodies’ Grassroots Sports Ground Team of the Year - Rugby Town Junior FC, Rugby

Britain’s Got Talent’s Kev Orkian, will be on hand providing entertainment.